Bloomfield Tech, Morris School of Technology Educators Named County Teachers of the Year

September 14th, 2012


Two county vocational-technical school educators were among the 2012 County Teachers of the Year announced yesterday by the New Jersey Department of Education.

Indira Bailey, an art teacher at Bloomfield Tech (part of the Essex County Vocational Technical Schools district), was selected as the Essex County Teacher of the Year.

Thomas Koehler, a veterinary science teacher at Morris County School of Technology, was selected as the Morris County Teacher of the year.

Videos of all of the 2012 County Teachers of the Year can be found here on the NJEA’s web site.

According to the NJDOE news release, “county  teachers of the year are selected at the county level by panels representing a  cross-section of administrators, teachers, parents and county education  association representatives convened by the executive county superintendents of  schools.

“Each  County Teacher of the Year submits a written application and a 15 minute video  to the Department of Education for review by a state-level panel of educators who make the final  selection of the 2012-13 New Jersey State Teacher of the Year.  The announcement  will be made at the October meeting of the State Board of Education and the  winner will represent the state at the National Teacher of the Year  competition.”

The current New Jersey Teacher of the Year is Jeanne Del Colle, a history teacher at Burlington County Institute of Technology.

Read the NJDOE news release here.


Instagram Icon Youtube Icon Linkedin Icon