SCVTS superintendent receives ‘Spirit of Somerset Award’ for education (

November 15th, 2021
Harttraft receives award

(l-r) Somerset County Vocational Board of Education member Nadine Wilkins, Somerset County Vocational Board of Education Vice President Gregory Lalevee, SCVTS Superintendent Dr. Chrys Harttraft and Board of Education President William G. Hyncik, Jr. pose for a photo after a recent board meeting.

At a ceremony recently held at the Somerset County Vocational & Technical Schools (SCVTS), Superintendent Dr. Chrys Harttraft received the Spirit of Somerset Award for Education. Since 1998, the Spirit of Somerset Awards program has celebrated exceptional representatives from the business, education, arts, health and non-profit communities throughout Somerset County.

“It is an honor to be selected for this award representing education. I am so appreciative and apparently in very good company,” said Dr. Harttraft.
Harttraft added, “Somerset County Vocational & Technical Schools, as an organization, has been a great fit for me. SCVTS has provided academic, social and emotional support programs for students from all walks of life and various socio-economic backgrounds. From disenfranchised, or struggling youth in our alternative education program, to our highest achieving youth in the Academy for Health & Medical Sciences, and everyone in-between, the skills students learn prepares them for both college and careers that are in demand and require high skills.

“It has been such a pleasure working in Somerset County with such bright, compassionate and capable individuals. It is the high level of collaboration and collegiality that sets Somerset County apart from other counties in the state. Additionally, the support from the Somerset County Board of Chosen Freeholders and more recently the Somerset County Board of Commissioners and their staff, has been unprecedented.”

John Graf, a former district employee, started the Spirit of Somerset awards to honor “significant contributions and the dedication of Somerset County citizens and employees.” This year’s recipients included: Brian Gallagher, Chris Edwards, John Fodor, Rod Hirsch, Theresa Hanntz, Joanne Fetzko, Senator Christopher “Kip” Bateman and Barbara Schlichting. The fundraising event contributed to programs at the Somerset Treatment Services in Somerville.

Read this article as it originally appeared Nov. 12 on

Instagram Icon Youtube Icon Linkedin Icon